Thursday July 29, 2021
KING’S Lynn missed out 46-44 in a dramatic last heat decider at rivals Ipswich.

Stars were denied a draw when home skipper Danny King and Lynn’s popular Erik Riss clashed going into the third turn of the vital race and Riss came down.

It was a classic clash of rivals with an electric atmosphere and a rejuvenated Stars side did their travelling fans proud with a consolation point.

Minors and Brady Stars co-promoter Dale Allitt said: “The boys gave it everything, Alex (Brady) worked superbly with them and it was a good speedway meeting.

“Ultimately we were disappointed to miss out but we have a consolation point on the board and we now look forward to taking on Sheffield on Monday.”

Richard Lawson continued his fine form

In Stars colours with a 10+1 haul and it was good to see Cameron Heeps notch 7+3, his best score for the club at his former track.

But once again Craig Cook, who Lynn released after only two meetings this season, returned a brilliant 14-point score against his former club.

Heeps stormed away from the gate to take the flag with Thomas Jorgensen getting the better of home guest Rory Schlein for third place in a fine start to the meeting.

Back to back 5-1 heat advantages for the Witches saw them lead by six-points after five heats thanks to the dominant form of King.

But the Stars showed their renewed attitude and kept chipping away at the Witches lead and drew level with a 5-1 of their own thanks to skipper Lewis Kerr and Riss.

Heat 12 saw the home side take a slender lead thanks again to that man King and Paul Starke benefitted from a small mistake from Ricky Wells for the crucial third place point.

A succession of 3-3 heats saw the meeting conclude with Heat 15 drama.

There were plenty of positives for team manager Alex Brady to take away with a quick turnaround as the Stars welcome Sheffield on Monday night.

IPSWICH 46: Craig Cook 14, Danny King 13+1, Paul Starke 11+1, Jake Allen 3+1, Rory Schlein 2, Anders Rowe 2, Drew Kemp 1

KING’S LYNN 44: Richard Lawson 10+1, Erik Riss 8, Cameron Heeps 7+3, Thomas Jorgensen 7, Ricky Wells 7, Lewis Kerr 3+2, Connor Mountain 2+1

Share This:   Facebook Twitter