Sunday August 27, 2023
KING’S Lynn have a chance to affect the Sports Insure Premiership play-off race when they visit Leicester on Bank Holiday Monday (8pm).

It’s the first of three successive fixtures against contenders for the top four as the MacInnes Stars also travel to Sheffield on Thursday before next Monday’s huge home clash with Ipswich.

At this stage the battle for the final place appears to be between Leicester and Ipswich, with the Witches on a great run and the Lions wobbling after a club record run of victories in the summer.

The Stars will look to inflict more problems on the East Midlands side following Thursday’s dramatic home win over Belle Vue, although once again injuries affect their team selection.

All seven Premiership clubs are racing on Monday in league or KO Cup matches, so Connor Mountain steps in for the injured Thomas Jorgensen on one of his former home tracks, with rider replacement in operation for Nicolai Klindt.

There was some good news with Emil Breum avoiding any broken bones in his crash on Thursday, although he did suffer bruising with inflammation and misses the Leicester match, with Kye Thomson making a return as guest.

And captain Simon Lambert has stressed the dramatic change of mood in the Stars camp over the last week – pinpointing the arrival of Robert Lambert as crucial.

He said: “It’s nothing to do with me being skipper, but the team morale since bringing Robert in has changed completely, and that started at Belle Vue.

“Robert is one of us, he likes to be about and it was just a completely different atmosphere from what I’ve had from being here, and obviously I came in halfway through the year, and we just carried that on on Thursday.”

Regular team boss David Hoggart is unavailable this week due to prior commitments, and the Stars would like to thank Birmingham promoter Laurence Rogers for stepping in for both fixtures.

LEICESTER: Max Fricke, Craig Cook, Richard Lawson, Justin Sedgmen, Richie Worrall, Jake Allen, Drew Kemp.
KING’S LYNN: Robert Lambert, Nicolai Klindt r/r, Kye Thomson, Connor Mountain, Michael Palm Toft, Simon Lambert, Anders Rowe.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter