Wednesday May 15, 2024
KING’S Lynn have called up former Grand Prix star Max Fricke to make a guest appearance when they face Sheffield at the Adrian Flux Arena on Thursday (7.30pm).

Fricke, who has been in great form recently in the ROWE Motor Oil Premiership for Leicester, comes in to replace injured skipper Tobiasz Musielak who suffered a broken collarbone in the PSH Environmental Stars’ last home meeting against Birmingham.

The hosts are otherwise unchanged in personnel from the last time they raced on Bank Holiday Monday at Ipswich, but manager Rob Lyon has moved to switch the riding order.

Benjamin Basso now takes over the No.2 position with Niels-Kristian Iversen forming the middle-order combination with Michael Palm Toft.

Nicolai Klindt continues as captain in Musielak’s absence, and the Stars will naturally hope for another big score at reserve from Patryk Wojdylo after his heroics against the Brummies.

Sheffield’s impressive record against the Stars is well documented but the defending champions do go into the meeting having suffered a rare home defeat.

They lost out to Ipswich in a close-fought televised clash at Owlerton on Monday and will look to bounce back at one of their favourite away venues.

With three-times World Champion Tai Woffinden and Jack Holder, currently second in the 2024 standings, leading their attack it will be another tough meeting, with former Stars captain Josh Pickering also in the middle order.

Jason Edwards, who had a spell with King’s Lynn as Rising Star in 2022-23, is out with a fractured cheekbone, and his place at reserve will be taken by Jack Smith.

Lyon said: “No doubt it will be a tough one against Sheffield. We know how strong they are around this track, but we’ve booked a solid guest in Max and know that if we start well then anything is possible.

“They’re coming off the back of a first home defeat of the season, so it will be interesting to see how that affects them.”

*THE recently postponed home fixture against Leicester has now been re-arranged for Monday July 1 (7.30pm).

KING'S LYNN: Max Fricke, Benjamin Basso, Niels-Kristian Iversen, Michael Palm Toft, Nicolai Klindt, Patryk Wojdylo, Anders Rowe.
SHEFFIELD: Jack Holder, Kyle Howarth, Chris Holder, Josh Pickering, Tai Woffinden, Jack Smith, Dan Gilkes.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter